Eyes

Jadee, spring morning. Cassi J via Compfight

I’ve seen some things

Some of those things

I wish to unsee

Yet my eyes capture

The darkest and brightest

Things of life

 

Whether I’m standing on a bridge

With a rocky river beneath it

As the oak trees sway on the side

And as the wind takes the leaves

One by one to fly free

 

Or if I were to stand in a wasteland

With no water

No trees or grass

No life what so ever

Nothing but tumbleweeds flying

 

Whether I choose to look or not

Is my choice

But when I open my eyes

It’s not only my eyes that open

It’s my soul and my thoughts

Taking everything in at the sight

 

Sometimes I can’t see well

My vision blurs up

As tears well up in my eyes

And spill down my cheek

Like a waterfall on a rainy day

 

I choose to open my eyes to the world

Because if I live in fear of seeing the dark things

I might miss the bright things

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *