Week 11 – I’m Not Sorry – Jordan

Sorry, I'm Happy Jeremy Brooks via Compfight

As the water come violently from the hose

That connects to the generic red truck

That she dreamt of driving

Since she was 16 years old

 

Now she’s 23

And she’s living with her dream job

I don’t expect her to live with us since she’s 23

But she could have waited a few more years

So I could actually remember her

 

She left to live with a family member when I was 3

So I don’t remember her that much

Though, there are times that I’m glad I don’t remember

 

She’d come for visits to see me

And those were the best days of my life

I looked up to her so much

 

Eventually she stopped visiting,

Fell completely out of touch

 

So I’m sorry that I never bothered to do stuff with you

Or try and make plans to hang out

I’m sorry I didn’t bother to keep in touch with you

I’m sorry I looked up to you just only because you were my sister

 

But as I grew older and I could think for myself

I realized that she’s a stranger to me

 

The only things I know about her

Is that she’s a firefighter

And that we have different dads

 

I don’t know her hobbies,

Or where she lives or even what station she works at

I don’t even remember what her voice sounds like anymore

I don’t consider her my sister anymore

Because she’s a complete stranger to me

 

So all of those things I said sorry for,

I take them back

I don’t want to lie about it

Because In reality

I’m not sorry

One thought on “Week 11 – I’m Not Sorry – Jordan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *